Düsenberg Limousine Landaulet Rollston 1936

Product no.: ABC340

In stock
can be shipped within 1-3 days

269.95
Price incl. VAT, plus delivery


In winter 1928 the almost incredible 'Duesenberg Model J' was announced. The new model premiered at the Importers' Salon in New York. Fred Duesenberg had created his masterpiece: the large chassis with a 3.60 or 3.90 m wheelbase was very solid with 20.6 cm high side members. Of course there were hydraulic brakes again, but this time with drums with a diameter of 38.1 cm. There was also oversized steering and a 100-liter tank. The huge 6.9-liter engine with two overhead camshafts and a five-bearing, 67.5 kilogram alloy steel crankshaft had a double carburetor from Schebler and even chrome-plated intake ducts. The transmission with three forward gears and the central lubrication supplemented the offer. All in all, the Duesenberg J was perhaps the most carefully designed automobile of its time.

Legends are about the performance of the engine. The official figure was 265 SAE-PS, which corresponded to approximately 210 PS according to the DIN standard. The specified maximum speed was 185 km / h, which was actually achieved with a touring car model. The gasoline consumption was regularly about 21-29 liters per 100 kilometers, but this was within the scope of other luxury automobiles with comparable engine performance. In this context, it should be noted that it has become natural to classify the surviving Duesenberg J according to the engine numbers, not the chassis numbers. This Düsenberg J has the chassis number 2605 and the engine number 577. The car was made for a businessman from Boston in 1936.

The Rollston Company was an American manufacturer of automobile bodies and was founded in 1921. In 1938, Rollston went bankrupt. The company was dissolved. The New York City-based company manufactured exclusive superstructures for chassis from North American and European top-class manufacturers. The closest business relationship was with Packard. In the 1930s, Rollston also manufactured a total of 57 bodies for the Duesenberg Model J and JN.

We also recommend

*
Prices incl. VAT, plus delivery

Customers who bought this product also bought

*
Prices incl. VAT, plus delivery

Browse these categories as well: ABC Brianza, Cord / Duesenberg / Auburn

Düsenberg Limousine Landaulet Rollston 1936

Artikel-Nr.: ABC340

Auf Lager
innerhalb 1-3 Tagen lieferbar

269,95
Preis inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand


Im Winter 1928 erfolgte die Ankündigung des schier unglaublichen 'Duesenberg Model J'. Seine Premiere erlebte das neue Modell anlässlich des Salons der Importeure in New York. Fred Duesenberg hatte sein Meisterstück geschaffen: Das große Chassis mit 3,60 oder 3,90 m Radstand war sehr massiv mit 20,6 cm hohen Längsträgern. Es gab natürlich wieder hydraulische Bremsen, allerdings dieses Mal mit Trommeln von 38,1 cm Durchmesser. Dazu gab es eine überdimensionierte Lenkung und einen 100-Liter-Tank. Der riesige 6,9-Liter-Motor mit zwei obenliegenden Nockenwellen und einer fünffach gelagerten und 67,5 Kilogramm schweren Kurbelwelle aus legiertem Stahl besaß einen Doppelvergaser von Schebler und sogar verchromte Ansaugkanäle. Das Getriebe mit drei Vorwärtsgängen und die Zentralschmierung ergänzten das Gebotene. Insgesamt war der Duesenberg J damit das vielleicht sorgfältigste konstruierte Automobil seiner Zeit.

Legenden ranken sich um die Leistung des Motor. Die offizielle Angabe betrug 265 SAE-PS, was ungefähr 210 PS nach der DIN-Norm entsprach. Die angegebene Höchstgeschwindigkeit betrug 185 km/h, die tatsächlich mit einem Tourenwagen-Modell erreicht wurde. Der Benzinverbrauch betrug regelmäßig ca. 21-29 Liter auf 100 Kilometer, was jedoch im Rahmen anderer Luxusautomobile mit vergleichbaren Motorleistungen lag. In diesem Zusammenhang ist anzumerken, dass sich eingebürgert hat, die überlebenden Duesenberg J nach den Motornummern, nicht etwa nach den Chassis-Nummern, zu klassifizieren. Dieser Düsenberg J hat die Chassis Nummer 2605 und die Motorennummer 577. Das Auto wurde für einen Geschäftsmann aus Boston 1936 gefertigt.

Die Rollston Company war ein US-amerikanischer Hersteller von Automobilkarosserien und wurde 1921 gegründet. 1938 wurde Rollston zahlungsunfähig. Das Unternehmen wurde aufgelöst. Das in New York City ansässige Unternehmen fertigte exklusive Aufbauten für Chassis nordamerikanischer und europäischer Oberklassehersteller. Die engste Geschäftsbeziehung bestand zu Packard. In den 1930er-Jahren fertigte Rollston aber auch insgesamt 57 Aufbauten für den Duesenberg Model J und JN.

Zu diesem Produkt empfehlen wir

*
Preise inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand

Auch diese Kategorien durchsuchen: ABC Brianza, Cord / Düsenberg / Auburn, Startseite